I.C.E Your Mobile

And no, I don’t mean stick it in the freezer! -)

I don’t know how many of you have heard of I.C.E., it stands for In Case of Emergency.  Basically it means that you put an entry in your mobile phone with I.C.E. as the prefix and in the unfortunate situation that you are involved in an emergency or an accident, the medical personal or emergency services can easily find your loved ones or next of kin’s phone number in your phone if it is needed.

I.C.E is the brainchild of a British paramedic who came up with the idea after he encountered difficulties with alerting the family members of accident victims.  In the wake of the London terrorist bombings the idea has taken off, via the internet. 

There may be some concerns about privacy, but when a life is on the line, rescue workers insist the benefits of I.C.E. far outweigh any risk.  “I don’t know if it’s an invasion of privacy because if you have a cell phone anyways, we’re going to start hunting and looking as well. So, wouldn’t you rather have a designated person that we can contact immediately and get the information that we need?” said one emergency services worker.

Here is an interview with Bob Brotchie, the paramedic who came up with the idea.

It is such a simple thing to do and could mean the difference between life and death.  As soon as I read about this online I decided I had to do an entry about it in my blog, plus I also now have my I.C.E. contact in my mobile phone.

One Response to I.C.E Your Mobile

  1. […] Recommended posts to read – I.C.E Your Mobile […]

Leave a Reply

