Female Rider’s Bad CBT Experience

L PlatesBeing a female rider I do hear of occasions where girls seem to get a raw deal when trying to learn to ride, but this one I heard about today just about takes the biscuit as far as I’m concerned!

A 25 year old girl wants to learn to ride, has a bike already and is busting to get out on the road on it, so she rings an instructor and tells him she wants to take her CBT.  She says she wants to do it on his bike (hers isn’t taxed or anything yet) and also advises that she is 5 foot tall.  After reassurance that this wont be a problem she books the CBT.

So she turns up a few days ago, undoubtably a bit excited about learning to ride, and goes through the two and a half hours of indoor classes covering theory, safety and bike controls.

All well and good so far, yes?

So it’s time to go out and actually sit on a bike and start putting all the theory into practice.  She gets on the bike, and the instructor takes one look and says “Sorry – You can’t touch the floor flat with both feet.  Forget it kid. Go home!!!” (She’s 25 years old for goodness sake!!)

He then went on to tell her that she will never ride anything other than a cruiser, but can’t so her CBT on one because of the larger turning circle needed by cruisers.  Also she should sell her bike and give up.  In addition, he repeatedly told her that if she rode the bike she owned she would crash it, and probably die!!!

According to this particular instructor “the law” states she has to be able to touch both feet flat on the floor and if she couldn’t she wouldn’t be able to take a test plus would be laughed off the training ground!  He also told her husband the same thing when he rang up later to find out what had happened.

To top it all off, she paid for a FULL CBT lesson and test and now the instructor is refusing the refund any of the money!!!!!!!!!

I simply cannot believe he has behaved in such a way towards a paying customer and as for saying “the law” says you can’t ride a bike unless both feet are on the floor.. It’s a load of b******s!!!

Both myself and several other girls have advised her to report the instructor and to demand a refund.  I hope she does and many such incidents go unreported and unless the DSA is aware they are unable to do anything to prevent such occurances happening again!

ooooo… it’s enough to make my blood boil!!!!!!!

Please feel free to comment…

2 Responses to Female Rider’s Bad CBT Experience

  1. Ray says:

    My friend just did her cbt and she is just 5″, so there you go. Im confused as to why he didnt tell her this at start of day or more prfessionally at time of phonecall?

  2. Ally says:

    I’m only 5’3″ but my height wasn’t the problem at my CBT. The instructor (old codger of a bloke) took one look at me and the 2 other ladies on the day and stuck us all on scooters, even after I said I already had a geared 125cc that I needed to learn to ride.
    Throughout the day I heard snide nasty comments about female riders and got laughed at for wearing full leathers on a scooter (I’d turned up on the back of a Bandit 600 and expected to ride a bike).

    I’m taking my test this month with another company so I can ride my VFR400, let’s hope they’re better.

Leave a Reply

