First Ride On My New Blade :-)

I finally took my new Blade out for her first ride yesterday 🙂

Me On My New Blade

….. and I fell totally in love..

I must admit I was a tad nervous about taking it out for the first time (not that I’ll ever admit that to my boyfriend who gave me the bike, but he doesn’t read this so will never know.. tehehehe!!) as it’s  is in pretty much pristine condition and I don’t want to damage it in any way.

I had to wait from Christmas until the 5th February before I could legally rider it as I was riding on a restricted licence until then, but then the weather was against me.. It’s been pretty naff on the weekends through most of February and seeing as I get cold and wet most days just riding to and from work I really wanted to stay warm on the weekends.. And my first ride kept getting put off.. ..

But a sunny Sunday, even though it was a tad cold, meant I could take it out for the first time..

Was I still nervous.. ermm.. yes… Did I take it reeeaaaaaally slow out of our road.. Damn right I did.. Once I got out onto the main road things between me and him (I think this bike is a boy but I’m not certain yet, we need to spend more time together) felt sooo0 much better, things just fell into place and it didn’t feel so big anymore..  Things were just brilliant until I had to stop at some traffic lights and there I was, on my new (to me) bike, with my foot flailing around trying to find the ground before I fell over because the road went down towards the curb..

The thing is I’m on tiptoes on the flat and if the road is just a little bit lower I’m kinda in a sticky situation 😦  I’m worried that until I get used to the extra weight it will go over too far when I’m trying to put my foot down and both of us will end up in a rather undignified heap on the road 😦

How Much Of My Foot Touches The Floor

So, thinking cap on we went home as I couldn’t get the vision of us on our side in the road out of my head..I figured out a way to sort this out and will post about how I did it.

All in all though, I’m one very happy bunny now.. I got to ride it for the first time and I fell in love big time 🙂

Leave a Reply

