Did You See Me?

Did you see me?

I saw you;

• hug your purse closer to you in the grocery store line. But you didn’t see me put an extra £10 in the collection plate last Sunday.

• pull your child closer when we passed each other on the sidewalk. But you didn’t see me playing Santa at the local church.

• change your mind about going into the restaurant when you saw my bike parked out front. But you didn’t see me attending a meeting to raise more money for the hurricane relief.

• roll up your window and shake your head when I rode by. But you didn’t see me riding behind you when you flicked your cigarette butt out the car window.

• frown at me when I smiled at your children. But you didn’t see me, when I took time off from work to run toys to the homeless.

• stare at my long hair. But you didn’t see me and my friends cut ten inches off for Locks of Love.

• roll your eyes at our leather jackets and gloves. But you didn’t see me and my brothers donate our old ones to those that had none.

• look in fright at my tattoos. But you didn’t see me cry as my children where born or have their name written over and in my heart.

• change lanes while rushing off to go somewhere. But you didn’t see me going home to be with my family.

• complain about how loud and noisy our bikes can be. But you didn’t see me when you were changing the CD and drifted into my lane.

• yelling at your kids in the car. But you didn’t see me pat my child’s hands knowing she was safe behind me.

• reading the newspaper or map as you drove down the road. But you didn’t see me squeeze my wife’s leg when she told me to take the next turn.

• race down the road in the rain. But you didn’t see me get soaked to the skin so my son could have the car to go on his date.

• run the yellow light just to save a few minutes of time. But you didn’t see signaling to turn right.

• cut me off because you needed to be in the lane I was in. But you didn’t see me leave the road.

• waiting impatiently for my friends to pass. But you didn’t see me. I wasn’t there.

• go home to your family. But you didn’t see me.

Because I died that day you cut me off…

I was just a biker. A person with friends and a family.

But you didn’t see me.

Leave a Reply

